What does “writing” mean to you? Is blogging writing?

Posted on December 23, 2010

4


I mentioned the other day that I was simplifying my feelings because of “time constraint and my hesitation towards blogging in general.”  Sometimes I fear that I’ll misrepresent myself through blogging. Even though I’ve been blogging somewhat regularly over the past three years, this technology still feels a bit foreign to me–and, well, not quite like “writing.”

 

A writer then

 

Writing to me will always be romantic, and inherently tied to images of rocking chairs, fireplaces, views of rain or snowfall from a window, overstuffed ashtrays, and glasses upon glasses of whiskey, rum, or wine.  The things of leisure.  I grew up on Hemingway, Fitzgerald, and Faulkner, and their descriptions of the writer’s life made an impression on me for all time.  I know I’m not alone in this, but I’m curious as to how many writers today even know what the hell I’m referring to. Does the idea of writing make more people these days only conjure images of Macbooks, mocha-frapp lattes, and free wifi status alerts? I don’t think one set of associations is necessarily better than the other, but to all the new writers out there: Are these new tools of society just as romantic to you? Is writing even considered a leisurely activity anymore?

 

A writer now

I’m adapting to the blogosphere at the same time I’m working on a book. I’m not sure if its realistic to be a writer today without embracing as many different forms of it as possible, and the more I just put words on pages the less I’m finding I care about the medium. No matter how the associations with writing changes over the years, there’s one thing that will never change: the need to have words expressed, shared, and debated.  But there’s no doubt that some mediums serve what we wish to express better than others.

Here I am, writing thoughts on my blog. But this is an entirely different experience from reading my book. I’m more familiar with the novel format, and I think that’s why I have a stronger ability to write more intimately there. Plus, the format of a novel/memoir demands a story with a beginning, middle, and end.  This blog could just keep going on and on forever–which excites me, but it’s also sort of daunting.  Is it possible to maintain a blog with literary qualities?

I’m not satisfied with saying, “Yeah, what you read here is OK, but what you REALLY need to do is buy my book for the good stuff!” I’ll get better at this. This blog will be worth your time. I only need to figure out how to use it.

In the meanwhile, I think Daniel Quitschau at CreativeWritingBlog.org get’s at an interesting point on the need for writers to be more competitive since “the amount of people reading for pleasure is decreasing…” If you’re a writer who just stumbled onto this site and feel similar anxieties towards this new technology, you may find some comfort there. While there may be a need to be more competitive, we all have plenty of time to experiment.

Posted in: Writing