My Jesus & Mary Chain Article. Originally Published in 2007…

Posted on October 25, 2010

0


This is a piece I wrote in 2007 about The Jesus & Mary Chain reunion for LA2Day.com. I wanted to be a full-time music journalist back then. Like my heroes Lester Bangs and Cameron Crowe, I wrote articles that gushed with emotion, and I talked about rock stars as if they were gods I was lucky to bow down to. I was a fan first, and critic second.

I like this piece a lot. It landed me more writing jobs over the years, and it glows with a youthful and unabashed enthusiasm that was unique in 2007. But writing something like this today would probably be considered unprofessional, or even a little crazy.

THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN A NIGHT BEFORE COACHELLA

BY PAUL LOSADA FOR LA2DAY.COM MAY 4, 2007 

There was a lot at stake when I bought my ticket for the first Jesus and Mary Chain show in almost ten years; more than any normal fan should have to think about (but that’s why you’re the reader, and why I’m cursed as the writer)…(continue reading atLA2DAY).

Posted in: Music, Writing