I don’t just play a sound guy on TV.

Posted on October 25, 2010

0


I made my acting debut in a television spot for Superfund banks back in 2008. I was 25 years old and had no idea what I was doing at the time. Living and working in Hollywood was just some strange adventure, and I was saying “yes” to everything that came my way.

I was originally working as the commercial’s production sound mixer, but at the last minute the director asked me to appear on camera as a fictional production mixer. I was still responsible for recording usable sound while acting. I had to hold the boom mic in an unnatural position to look right on screen, but it was almost impossible to do my job as a real mixer like that. It made me stressed out, and after a dozen or so takes I took it upon myself to hold up production so I could rest my arms. And my nerves. The director called me a prima donna. The next day we got into a shouting match over an unrelated incident, and we never worked together again.

I don’t think I’ll ever appear in another commercial.

